New York defies state Supreme Court ruling on mask mandates

New York parents have been notified that they are not allowed to send their children to school without their masks per a statement by the state Education Department. 

According to a report by The Daily Wire, the officials cited their plan to appeal the ruling made by the New York Supreme Court that allowed children to go to school bare-faced. 

Spencerport Superintendent Kristin Swann informed parents via email that was reviewed by the Daily Wire, saying that their department “continues to mandate that all individuals in school settings must wear masks.”

“The State Education Department (SED) continues to mandate that all individuals in school settings must wear masks under the current regulations until legal appeals are exhausted,” Swann said in the email.

“Please understand that this mandate was communicated to ALL school districts from the New York State Education Department as of this evening,” she wrote.

The email also stated that the department of education has the “understanding that the Department of Health will appeal the Nassau County Supreme Court decision, which will result in an automatic stay that will unambiguously restore the mask rule until such time as an appellate court issues a further ruling. Therefore, schools must continue to follow the mask rule” [emphasis original].

Judge Thomas Rademaker said in his ruling Monday evening that the issues of masks needs to be taken up by the state legislature and cannot be decided by the health department. 

“There can be no question that every person in this State wishes, wants and prays that this era of COVID ends soon and they will surely do their part to see that is accomplished,” the judge said.

“However, enacting any laws to this end is entrusted solely to the State Legislature. While the intentions of Commissioner Bassett and Governor Hochul appear to be well aimed squarely at doing what they believe is right to protect the citizens of New York State, they must take their case to the State Legislature.”